Super Bowl MVP Mahomes Leads Kansas City to Thrilling Overtime Win

Super Bowl LVIII lived up to the hype as the Kansas City Chiefs pulled off a dramatic 25-22 overtime win Sunday night to repeat as champions of the National Football League.

This was their fourth Super Bowl appearance out of the last five and third Super Bowl victory. It was the first time in two decades that an NFL team repeated as the Super Bowl champion.

San Francisco’s young quarterback Brock Purdy had driven his team down field in overtime for a field goal to put his team ahead 22-19.

But Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes, the game’s MVP, led his team down field 75 yards for a game-winning touchdown pass to Mecole Hartman Jr. with just a few seconds left in the overtime period.

Both teams traded scores throughout the contest until San Francisco kicker Jake Moody hit a field goal with less than two minutes remaining in the 4th quarter to put the 49ers up 19 -16.

Mahomes then drove his team down the field to put his team in position for a game-tying field goal as time expired in regulation.

The game featured the two longest field goals in NFL Super Bowl history at 57 yards and 55 yards.

 Purdy, San Francisco’s quarterback, was the third youngest ever to start as quarterback in the annual classic.

 – – –

Written by the staff reporters at Just the News.


Reprinted with permission from Just the News.

Related posts